Five Pillars of islam

A Muslim is required to observe certain practices and traditions called the 'Five Pillars' of Islam which are five duties that unite the Muslim.

  • Kalima or Shahadh
  • Salah or Ritual Prayer
  • Sawn or Fasting
  • Zakath or Alms - Giving
  • Haj or Pilgrimage to Mecca

The above five pillars form the ultimate basis of the Islamic religion, and are observed world wide. The Islamic traditions and teaching strictly oppose discrimination, divisions or distinction. All the people are viewed as one in front of Allah, a common sight being the communal prayers at the mosques where all the Muslims irrespective of their background, status, color or nationality praise the lord side by side. It is perhaps its simplicity, its strength in its virtues and etiquettes and its preaching of peace and unity that has made Islam the second-largest religion in the world, with 1.8 billion Muslims all over.